2018 Baltic URSI Symposium symposium will follow URSI Commission topics

* Commission A: Electromagnetic Metrology
* Commission B: Fields and Waves
* Commission C: Radiocommunication Systems and Signal Processing
* Commission D: Electronics and Photonics
* Commission E: Electromagnetic Environment and Interference
* Commission F: Wave Propagation and Remote Sensing
* Commission G: Ionospheric Radio and Propagation
* Commission H: Waves in Plasmas
* Commission J: Radio Astronomy
* Commission K: Electromagnetics in Biology and Medicine

The topics will be grouped into six tracks

Track 1

Electronics and Photonics track
(Commission D)

Track co-chair: prof. Ryszard Piramidowicz
(Warsaw University of Technology)

Ryszard Piramidowicz Ph.D., D.Sc., has more than 20 years of experience in laser technology, laser spectroscopy, optical fiber technology and integrated photonics, optical communications anf photovoltaics.
Currently he holds the position of Deputy Director of The Institute of Microelectronics and Optoelectronics at Warsaw University of Technology.

Track co-chair: prof. Rolf Kraemer
(IHP Microelectronics, Frankfurt/O, Germany)

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Rolf Kraemer received his diploma and Ph.D. from RWTH Aachen in electrical engineering and computer-science in 1979 and 1985. He joined the Philips Research Laboratories in 1985 where he worked on distributed operating systems, communication systems, wireless high-speed communication, and embedded control- and management-software in different positions and responsibilities until 1998 in Hamburg and Aachen. In 1998 he became a Professor at the Technical University of Cottbus with the joined appointment of the department head of wireless systems at the IHP in Frankfurt (Oder). His teaching obligations address the area of distributed operating systems, mobile communication, and sensor networks. In the IHP he leads a research department with approximately 60 researchers in topics of high speed wireless communication, context aware middleware, sensor networks as well as embedded processors for encryption and protocol acceleration.

Track 2

Space Track 

(Commission G, H and J)

Track chair: prof. Iwona Stanisławska
(Space Research Center, Warsaw, Poland)

Iwona Stanisławska is a Professor and the Director the Space Research Centre of the Polish Academy of Sciences. She received her diploma at the Faculty of Physics in University of Warsaw and PhD and habilitatus degree in the Institute of Geophysics of the Polish Academy of Sciences and professor title (nominated by President of RP) at Space Research Centre Polish Academy of Sciences. Her interests concern the solar-geophysical relations, ionospheric physics, modeling and forecasting, and propagation conditions. She is the co-author of more than 220 scientific papers. She was involved in several international and European research projects. She is a stepping URSI Commission G leader.

Track 3

Electromagnetic Compatibility Track

(Commission E and A)

Track chair: prof. Piotr Słobodzian
(Wrocław University of Technology)

Piotr M. Słobodzian was born in Poland, in 1968.  He obtained his M.Sc., Ph.D. and D.Sc. degrees from the Wroclaw University of Science and Technology, Wroclaw, Poland, in 1993, 1998 and 2008 respectively. Currently, he holds the position of Professor of Telecommunications (Associate Professor). His research interests focus on computational electromagnetics and antenna theory and techniques, as well as and their application to EMC problems solution.

Track 4

Biological Medical Track

(Commission K)

Track chair: prof. Andrzej Krawczyk
(Military Institute of Medicine)

Prof. dr hab. inż. Andrzej Krawczyk works at Military Institute of Medicine as well as at Czestochowa University of Technology. His subjects of research are: applied electromagnetics, bioelectromagnetics, computer simulations and methodology of science. At Polish Association of Electricians he chairs the Committee on Medical Applications of Electromagnetic Fields. He is also a chairman of Polish Society of Applied Electromagnetics.

Track 5

Propagation Track

(Commission F and B)

Track chair: prof. Ryszard Katulski
(Gdansk University of Technology)

Ryszard J. Katulski is with the Radio Communication Department of the Gdańsk University of Technology (GUT). Now he is a full professor in the GUT. His research interests include wireless communications and electromagnetic compatibility, especially antennas, propagation and EMC analysis. He is the author or co-author more than 350 technical papers published in peer reviewed journals and presented at domestic and international conferences, and the author of book about radio wave propagations (in Polish) and the co-author of 13 book chapters. He conducted several projects related to special applications of wireless techniques. In 2012-2014 he was Polish representative in the Independent Scientists Evaluation Group (ISEG) in the Science for Peace and Security (SPS) NATO programme.

Track 6

Signals & Communications Track

(Commission C)

Track chair: dr Adrian Kliks
(Poznań University of Technology)

Dr. Adrian Kliks received with honors M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees in telecommunications from Poznan University of Technology (PUT), Poland, in 2005 and 2011, respectively, and currently he is employed as assistant professor at the Chair of Wireless Communications, PUT. He was involved in various industrial and international research projects. His scientific interests include i.a. advanced multicarrier communications, waveform design, small-cells in heterogeneous networks, WiFi Offloading, and cognitive radio.